Memberandum



Information for members and friends of Golden Growers Cooperative

Volume 21, Number 2

April 27, 2015

WE'VE MOVED!!!

In order to add stability to the organization and further reduce costs, Golden Growers has relocated its cooperative office.

As of April 21st, Golden Growers was collocated with the North Dakota Barley Council and North Dakota Grain Growers Association.

All three organizations will share office space and administrative services. Our main telephone number will remain the same, but our <u>fax line has changed</u> and the toll free number has been discontinued.

Update your records to reflect new address & contact information!

Our new contact information is as follows:

Golden Growers Cooperative 1002 Main Avenue West, Suite 5 West Fargo, ND 58078 Office: 701-281-0468

Office: 701-281-046 Fax: 701-239-7280

<u>Please make note of these changes and feel free to stop by our office when you are in the area.</u>

Board Election Results New Officers Elected



Scott Jetvig



Larry Vipond

On March 24th, Golden Growers members elected **Scott Jetvig of Hawley, MN** in the East Central District who to replace Paul Borgen of Dilworth, MN who chose not to run for re-election. **Larry Vipond of Herman, MN** was elected from the Southeast District to replace former Chairman Jason Medhaug of Veblen, SD who retired from the Board.

Re-elected to the Board were: **Gary Jirak** of Breckenridge, MN in the Northwest District; **Bruce Speich** of Milnor, ND in the Southwest District; and **Les Nesvig** of Lamoure, ND in the Northwest District.

At the conclusion of the annual meeting, the Golden Growers **Board of Directors elected Mark Harless of Moorhead, MN to serve as Board Chair**. Harless replaces former Chairman Jason Medhaug.

Harless his wife Lenae, and their son Paul farm near Borup MN raising corn, soybeans, and edible beans.

In addition to Harless, other officers selected include: Nicolas Pyle of Casselton, ND elected as First Vice-Chair, Shaun Beauclair of Stephen, MN elected as Second Vice-Chair, Matt Hasbargen of Fargo, ND elected as Secretary, and Les Nesvig of LaMoure, ND elected as Treasurer.

Trends to Watch

In his Chairman's message, Jason Medhaug highlighted some of the trends in the food and beverage market that Golden Growers members should become familiar with as they may have an impact on Golden Growers membership interest. Suppliers to the food market are increasingly focused on meeting financial, environmental, and community sustainability measurements. GMO labeling continues to be a major topic with numerous attempts to implement labeling requirements at state levels. Added sugars has gained visibility in recent months too. The FDA is widely expected to accept nutrition recommendations that 'added sugars' not exceed 10% of daily caloric content. Regardless of these legislative efforts, food and beverage companies may engage in more voluntary GMO labeling and reductions in sweetener content. Consumer behavior and choice is increasingly being influenced by social media. They are bombarded with messages (often unsubstantiated) that warn of possible danger of HFCS, GMOs, artificial sweeteners, non-natural ingredients. "Consumers are not sure something is wrong with certain ingredients, but without evidence to the contrary, they chose to avoid them," Medhaug stated. Websites like GMOANSWERS.COM can be helpful in presenting accurate information to consumers who have questions, Medhaug concluded.

Managers Report

Executive VP, Scott Stofferahn reported that the cooperative suspended an effort to obtain relief from SEC reporting requirements once success appeared unlikely. He relayed how new transfer policies were implemented for trusts and joint memberships to streamline transfers associated with estate planning. In addition, the GGC website was updated and the cost of administration was substantially reduced in 2014. Stofferahn also discussed how the Mexican sugar trade case dominated sweetener discussions in the past year.

Lori Buckhouse Joins Golden Growers



Jason Medhaug & Paul Borgen retire

As of March 1st, Lori Buckhouse joined the staff of Golden Growers Cooperative. Lori has extensive administrative and bookkeeping experience serving both public and private sector institutions. Prior to joining the ND Barley Council and ND Grain Growers, Lori worked for NDSU's Agricultural Systems and Biosystems Engineering Department. Lori will continue to serve the Barley Council and Grain Growers organizations through an administrative service agreement. We are very please to have Lori as a member of the Golden Growers family!

Golden Growers Cooperative has been very fortunate to have benefitted from outstanding leadership. Two of those outstanding leaders retired from the

Board at the 2015 annual meeting. Jason Medhaug was elected to the Board in 2002 and has served as Chairman of the board since 2010. Paul Borgen was elected in 2006 and has been first Vice Chair and Audit Committee Chair since 2010. Please accept our sincere appreciation for your leadership and outstanding service. We wish you the best!

Important Dates

<u>June 8, 2015</u>—Last day to submit transfer requests <u>June 18, 2015</u>—Board of Directors Meeting <u>September, 17, 2015</u>—Board of Directors Meeting <u>December 10, 2015</u>—Board of Directors Meeting

memberandum:

is published by

Golden Growers Cooperative

1002 Main Avenue W, Suite 5 West Fargo, ND 58078 701-281-0468

Scott Stofferahn

Executive Vice President scotts@goldengrowers.com

www.goldengrowers.com

© 2015 Golden Growers Cooperative